Week One Of Fifty-Two

*For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline – 2 Timothy 1:7 NIV*


So it’s officially been a week (and a few days) since moving into COCM and I guess I can finally say that I’ve settled down into the place!

It has definitely an interesting experience in terms of adjusting to a new lifestyle so far… Let me explain a little;

  • You’re living at the place you’re working at! – I’ve found that as lovely as this building is, sometimes you just need a break. Whether it be a walk around the block or a drive to the supermarket, it’s really necessary to step out of the building to get a break once in a while. Luckily this past week has been quite slow in general so I’ve had more opportunities to explore and orientate myself around the area.
  • After work, you’re still working. – My working hours are 9-5:30 Mon-Fri as any normal job. However, not that I’m complaining, I find myself working past these ‘office hours’ to finish up on a piece of work because I really do enjoy what I’m doing here. Actually, I’m more than happy to be doing so, such that I’ve found myself asking for more work to do! But I am starting to learn to separate work and private hours to discipline myself into better habits, rather than working through the day.
  • It really is a family community here. – You are spending your whole day with each other. Working, cooking, cleaning relaxing and bonding – you do all of this with each other. Of course, there is time to spend on your own, but there is the process of growing together through the highs and lows that I didn’t really expect – you learn to be patient and love one another just like with family at home.

 

So yes, this first week has definitely been an eye opener. Not only in terms of what I had ‘expected’ – because I really didn’t know what to expect, but also in terms of discovering more about myself and my relationship with God. The first couple of days were tough, not in a hard way, but just adapting to this new lifestyle, making small changes to fit into the community, learning a new language, and at the same time, giving myself the space to grow independently in my journey with God.

 

Leave a Reply

